Wars and Treaties


Wars and Treaties


War Year Treaty Gov General Battles et al
Anglo Marathas        
First 1775-82 Began: Treaty of Surat

End: Treaty of Salbai

Warren Hastings Battle of Wadgaon
Second 1803-05 Began: treaty of Bassein Lord Wellesley Battle of Assaye
Third 1816-19 Treaty of Gwalior Marquess  of Hastings Battle of Pindari

End of Peshwa rule

Anglo French        
First 1746-48 Treaty of Aix-la-Chepelle Reason: Austrian succession in Europe 1746: Battle of Adyar/San Thome
Second 1749-54   War of succession between Nasir Jung (English) and Muzaffar Jung (French) after death of Nizam 1749: Battle of Ambur


Rise of Robert Clive

Third 1758-63 Treaty of Paris Reason: 7 years war in Europe 1760: Battle of Wandiwash (French defeat)
Anglo Mysore        
First 1766-69      
Second 1780-1784 Treaty of Mangalore Warren Hastings After death of Hyder Ali in 1782 Tipu led the war
Third 1789-92 Treaty of Seringapatnam Cornwallis Defeat of Tipu
Fourth 1799   Wellesley Battle of Seringapatnam. Death of Tipu.
Anglo Sikh War        
First 1845-46 Treaty of Lahore Hardinge  
Second 1848-49   Dalhousie Final Subjugation of the Sikhs


1806 – Treaty of Raighat – Peace with Holkars



Poet/Writer Language Work
Kanchan Nambiar Malayalam  
Tayaumanavar Tamil (Sittar poet)
Dayaram Gujarati  
Warris Shah Punjabi Heer Ranjha
Shah Abdul Latif Sindhi Risalo
Sachal, Siami Sindhi  


Education in India

1781 – Calcutta Madarsah by Hastings

1791 – Sanskrit College, Varanasi: Jonathan Duncan

1813 – Charter Act directed the Company to spend a sum of Rs. 1 lakh on education <was made available in 1823>

1817 – Hindu College by David Hare & RM Roy; 1825 – Vedanta College, RM Roy

1835 – Macaulay’s minute

1854 – Wood’s Dispatch: asked the govt to assume the responsibility for the education of the masses

Gopal Hari Deshmukh was a religious reformer in Western India and was popularly known as ‘Lokahitwadi’

Separate electorates were introduced  by the Morley Minto Reforms of 1909

Dyarchy was introduced by the Montford reforms of 1919

Timeline of Satyagraha: Champaran (1917) – Ahmedabad Mill Strike (1918) – Kheda (1918)

1927 – Butler commission to review the centre state relations

1934 – Congress Socialist Party: Acharya Narendra Dev and JP

1936 – All India Kisan Sabha: Swami Sahajanand Saraswati

Share this article

Have any Question or Comment?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

TN Text Books – Download Here

TamilNadu New School Books – English Medium 👉👉👉 Click Here

TamilNadu New School Books – Tamil Medium 👉👉👉 Click Here

TamilNadu Old School Books – English Medium 👉👉👉 Click Here

TamilNadu Old School Books – Tamil Medium 👉👉👉 Click Here

Important TNPSC Group Exam Links

TNPSC – Previous Year Question Papers 👉👉👉 Click Here

TNPSC Group Exams – Study Materials 👉👉👉 Click Here

Current Affairs Materials – All Competitive Exams 👉👉👉 Click Here

TNPSC – Group 1 Mains – Test Series & Question Bank 👉👉👉 Click Here