10 Signs of Buddha’s

10 Signs of Buddha’s


1.Bhumisparsha Mudra:

-The Bhumisparsha Mudra is common,in most of the statues of Buddha.
Position Of Mudra: Buddha sitting in meditation position,with his left hand palm upright in his lap and  his right hand touches the earth.
Akshobya: The Mudra,associated with the blue Buddha called as Akshobya.
Significance: ‘Calling the earth to Witness the Truth’ Mudra,and it represents the moment of Buddha’s attaining enlightenment.

2. Dhayana Mudra:

-Also called as,’Samadhi or Yoga Mudra
-It indicates Meditation.
Position Of Mudra: Both the hands of Buddha presented in the lap,with the back of the right hand resting on the palm of the left hand with fingers extended and the thumbs of both hands are touching at the tips,it like a mystic triangle.
-It signifies attainment of spiritual perfection.
-This Mudra was used by Buddha during the final meditation under the bodhi tree

3. Vitarka Mudra:

-It indicates teaching and discussion or intellectual debate.
Position Of Mudra: The tips of the thumb and index finger touch each other,forming a circle.The right hand is positioned at shoulder level and the left hand at the hip level in the lap with palm facing upwards.
-It signifies the teaching phase of preaching in buddhism.The circle formed by the thumb and index finger maintains the constant flow of energy,as there is no beginning or end,only perfection.


4. Abhaya Mudra:

-It indicates fearlessness.
Position Of Mudra: The right hand is raised to shoulder level with arm bent.The right hand palm faces outwards and the fingers of this hand are upright and joined.The left hand hangs downwards by the side of the boby.
-This gesture was shown by Budddha immediately after attaining enlightenment.
-It symbolizes strength and inner security.It is a gesture which instills a sense of fearlessness to others as well

5. Dharmachakra Mudra:

-It means ‘Turning the wheel of the Dharma or Law‘.i.e.Setting into motion the wheel of Dharma
-This mudra involves both hands.
Position Of Mudra: The right hand is raised at chest level with the palm facing outwards.The joining of the tips of index finger and the thumb,is looked-like a mystic circe.The left hand is turned inward and the index finger and thumb of this hand join to touch the right hand’s circle.
-After his enlightenment in the Deer Park of Sarnath,this gesture was exhibited by him while he preached the first sermon at that place.


6. Anjali Mudra:

-Greetings,devotion and adoration.
Position Of Mudra: Both hands,palms and fingers joined against each other vertically and raised at the level of chest.
Namaste Position: It is common gesture used in india to greet people.
-It signifies adoration of the superior and considered a sign of regards with deep respect.
-It is believed that true Buddha’s(those who are enlightened) do not make this hand gesture and his gesture should not be shown in Buddha statues.This is for Bodhisattvas(who aim and prepare to attain perfect knowledge)

7. Uttarabodhi Mudra:

-It means supreme enlightenment.
Position Of Mudra: Interwining all the fingers except index fingers and extending the index fingers straight up and touching with each other and holding the hands at the level of the chest.
-This Uttarabodhi Mudra,is known for charging one with energy and symbolises perfection.
Shakyamuni Buddha,the liberator of Nagas,presents this Mudra.


8. Varada Mudra:

-It indicates charity,compassion or granting wishes.
Position Of Mudra: The right arm is extended all the way down,with the open hand palm facing outwards towards onlookers.If standing,the arm is held slightly extended to the front.Can be a left-hand gesture as well.
-This Mudra signifies five perfections:Generosity,Morality,Patience,Effort and Meditative Concentration,through the five extended fingers.

9. Karana Mudra:

-It indicates warding off evil.
Position Of Mudra: Either horizontally or vertically,the hand is stertched out with the palm forward.The thumb presses the folded two middle fingers but the index and little fingers are raised straight upwards.
-The gesture signifies expelling negative energy and demons.The energy created by this Mudra helps to remove obstacles such as sickness or negative thoughts.


10. Vajra Mudra:

-It indicates knowledge.
-This Vajra Mudra is better known in the countries of Korea and Japan.
Position Of Mudra: In this Mudra,the errect forefinger of the left hand is held in the fist of the right hand.It is seen in the mirror-inverted form also.
-It signifies the importance of knowledge or supreme wisdom.Knowledge is represented by the forefinger and the fist of the right hand protects it.

Share this article

Have any Question or Comment?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

TN Text Books – Download Here

TamilNadu New School Books – English Medium 👉👉👉 Click Here

TamilNadu New School Books – Tamil Medium 👉👉👉 Click Here

TamilNadu Old School Books – English Medium 👉👉👉 Click Here

TamilNadu Old School Books – Tamil Medium 👉👉👉 Click Here

Important TNPSC Group Exam Links

TNPSC – Previous Year Question Papers 👉👉👉 Click Here

TNPSC Group Exams – Study Materials 👉👉👉 Click Here

Current Affairs Materials – All Competitive Exams 👉👉👉 Click Here

TNPSC – Group 1 Mains – Test Series & Question Bank 👉👉👉 Click Here