Zonal Councils

Zonal Councils

      The Zonal Councils were established by the States Reorganization Act in 1956 to achieve cooperation and co ordination among states. They were created in the backdrop of linguistic reorganization of India and the first Prime Minister of India Jawaharlal Nehru described their objective as to “develop the habit of co-operative working”

Originally five Zonal Councils were created and later on in 1971 one more Zonal Council was established for the North Eastern States.
They are:

1. Northern Zonal Council
2. Southern Zonal Council
3. Eastern Zonal Council
4. Western Zonal Council
5. Central Zonal Council
6. North Eastern Zonal Council

      The Union Home Minister will be the common Chairperson of all the Zonal Councils. Additionally each Zonal Council will consist of the Chief Minister and two other Ministers of the each state and the Administrator of the Union Territory in the zone.

The Zonal Councils will discuss and suggest measures to promote cooperation among the members in areas like economic and social planning, border disputes, inert-state transport etc.

Share this article

Have any Question or Comment?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

TN Text Books – Download Here

TamilNadu New School Books – English Medium 👉👉👉 Click Here

TamilNadu New School Books – Tamil Medium 👉👉👉 Click Here

TamilNadu Old School Books – English Medium 👉👉👉 Click Here

TamilNadu Old School Books – Tamil Medium 👉👉👉 Click Here

Important TNPSC Group Exam Links

TNPSC – Previous Year Question Papers 👉👉👉 Click Here

TNPSC Group Exams – Study Materials 👉👉👉 Click Here

Current Affairs Materials – All Competitive Exams 👉👉👉 Click Here

TNPSC – Group 1 Mains – Test Series & Question Bank 👉👉👉 Click Here